Supporting churches to include people with Autism and Learning Disabilties

I love how Emma opens up our understanding about what it really means to communicate. This has real implications for us in the church too. More about that in another blog – but for now enjoy, learn and sign up to Emma’s Hope Book for a great read.

Emma's Hope Book

*Emma gave me her permission to write about this.

“How old is she?” a stranger asked the other day as Richard, Emma and I searched the grocery store shelves for Emma’s favorite jam.  Emma was bounding back and forth between where Richard and I were standing peering at the shelf where her jam is usually located, to the dairy case, twirling her string and saying things like, “but where is it?  I don’t know!  It’s gone!  Somebody took it.  You threw it! Aw sweetheart…”

The strange man then observed, “She’s acting like a young child.”

My first reaction was to move Emma away from this person so she wouldn’t hear any more of his words.  My second reaction was to go over to the man and say, “You know, my daughter understands everything you’re saying.”

“I wasn’t trying to be rude,” came the stranger’s reply.

“Yes, but in fact you…

View original post 335 more words

Your comment

