Supporting churches to include people with Autism and Learning Disabilties

IMG_0356

“Nothing about me without me…”

It’s something we really believe in our ministry with adults with learning disabilities.  As we get asked to speak and share what we do, here and there, we try at all times to make sure that a mixture of our members who have learning disabilities have the chance to come along and share in what we do.  We are a team.

However, my trip to London this weekend sees me travelling on my own.  Mostly due to logistics such as time and cost.  I have been very blessed with gifts that have covered most of my costs and a lovely new dress I found in a local charity shop!! Don’t tell anyone – it’s purple (my favourite colour) and lovely!

On Saturday morning I’m going to be one of the people interviewed about disability and the church on Premier Gospel’s Family Hour.  Here’s the link if you want to listen http://www.premiergospel.org.uk/shows/29  I’m so nervous and am hoping people understand my northern accent…I don’t have a posh version!

Then the afternoon will be spent at the Christian New Media Conference  http://www.newmediacentreofexcellence.org.uk/cnmac/conference ….and then… the awards evening.  Lots of people have asked me if I’ve prepared an acceptance speech, but I haven’t.  I’m really not expecting to win, but I might need to think of what I might say? Just in case?

Other events

Three of us from the Good News Group, including a lovely young woman who has Asperger’s Syndrome and loves to help people understand how disabled people can do anything other people can do, went down to Walsall this week.  We did a short presentation as part of the Churches for All training course http://www.throughtheroof.org/enabling-church-training-course/ and had the pleasure of learning from the other presenters there too.  We concentrated on showing as well as telling the participants how we make the Bible accessible to adults with learning disabilities.

Dreams and Ambitions

We can be very motivated when we have a dream.  I have had many dreams in my life but at the moment I am trying to work out which are my dreams and which are God’s.  The truth is only HIS dreams will be the right ones and often they don’t come easy.  What seems exciting on the outside can be risky, challenging and cause difficulties in other areas that we may not anticipate.  It is easy to make a dream our idol, focussing on that rather than the author of the dream.   We should keep in mind how many unlikely people God used to fulfil his plans in the old and new testaments and throughout history.  It is more likely that God will use one of the disabled people from our group to reach out, touch the hearts of others and complete God’s plans, rather than me or any other of the leaders.  That is why as a team, we are committed to prayer and looking out for the gifts and dreams of our group members so we can allow and help God’s plans rather than hinder them.

If you are a member of a church that does not yet include people with learning disabilities – thank you for even reading this blog and please do look at some other posts I have written to see what else I have to say.  I want to encourage you to dream.  A church with the whole body complete – a place that includes ALL people is God’s dream. If he has shared that dream with you – be honoured and humbled – and pray it into being.  Trust him and seek him, so that you will not be surprised who and what he uses to bring that dream into fruition.  Try not to use the word ‘BUT…’

God Bless you and do get in touch if you need help or support http://www.includedbygrace@talktalk.net

 

Your comment

