Supporting churches to include people with Autism and Learning Disabilties

This is such an important blog post – I am going to be sharing this in my network and diocese. Come on church…wake up to this!!!

The Left Hand of Ehud: Matt's Bible Blog

Logo_WAAD
I don’t stand up during the hymns any more.

I know that’s not much of a confession; it’s just that sitting and standing every five minutes isn’t exactly conducive to sign language, or to helping my autistic children stay calm. Standing up for the hymns is six or seven little transitions, and frankly, we don’t cope well with transitions.

That’s a pretty minor example of how things changed when I became dad to two boys on the autism spectrum. It’s about adapting – realising, slowly, that you have to roll with everything that’s being thrown at you rather than trying to fight it, and that, for your kids, success means something more than getting top marks in the SAT’s or having a shelf full of sport medals.

I’m not sure how much of this is evident to the people around me. Sometimes, with my cynical head on, it feels like there…

View original post 1,285 more words

Your comment

