Supporting churches to include people with Autism and Learning Disabilties

I love these thoughts from a new friend I met at the Disability and Theology conference. They give us all a challenge…embrace our vulnerability and be a pioneer!

Where do I begin?

I am a reluctant pioneer.

This is something that is becoming very apparent to me in my journey of faith, and in my life in general. This is not something I’m wildly enthusiastic about, since I would much rather stay in the background where it is safer and where there is less attention.

But then again, as I remarked to my spiritual director recently, God has this really annoying habit of calling you to places that you reaaally don’t want to go. So the shy girl is prompted over and over about the notion of being a pioneer. And it’s really inconvenient.

At the weekend I journeyed across the country for a conference entitled “Towards a Theology of Disability”. I did this for two main reasons:

  1. Major conferences like this are usually in London. Which is wonderful. Because I live there. But so often others have to travel to get…

View original post 1,050 more words

Your comment

