Supporting churches to include people with Autism and Learning Disabilties

Carrying other’s burdens.

Numbers 11:14  “I cannot carry all these people by myself; the burden is too heavy for me.”

Galatians 6:2  “Carry each other’s burdens, and in this way you will fulfil the law of Christ.”

Psalm 55:22  “Cast your cares on the Lord and he will sustain you; he will never let the righteous be shaken.”

Hebrews 4:15 “For we do not have a high priest who is unable to feel sympathy for our weaknesses, but we have one who has been tempted in every way, just as we are – yet he did not sin.”

http://www.biblegateway.com

MP900382868

I’ve not blogged for a while.  I’m not sure if anyone missed me!

I finished my Sabbatical and rejoined the Good News Group with a wonderful welcome from everyone, and a renewed passion for discipling our members.  Seeing their growth and reaching out to others is still our mission.   I want to blog about what we are doing this term – we are focussing on developing our groups understanding of and willingness to have a prayer life all of their own.  I will do that soon.

However, just as I went back I heard some terrible news.   It wasn’t something that directly affected me – but emotionally, I was hit hard.   Then other people that I know were given really bad news.  Being caught up in someone else’s tragedy and feeling all the grief but being unable to do anything at all to help or relieve their grief was just awful.   It hangs like a shadow over my daily life and I find myself caught in desperate prayer in everyday, ordinary moments as the grief comes over me like a tide.  I know how hard things are for them and desperately want to see their pain taken away.

It’s in these moments, not knowing what will happen, or if the person involved has the faith to get through their situation, that I and others around them will need to stand alongside and carry their burdens with them.   Sometimes people won’t let you do anything practically, or you’re too far away, but the Bible tells us that prayer is our first response.

I hope people who are suffering, these people I care for, are able to see that comfort comes from Christ.  He knew what suffering was.  He grieved for his friends and for the lost.  He prayed and taught us how to pray.

Romans 8:26   “In the same way, the Spirit helps us in our weakness. We do not know what we ought to pray for, but the Spirit himself intercedes for us through wordless groans.”

So I pray for you, if you are reading this.  That anything that is causing you to grieve, despair or worry – then may our Lord Jesus Christ bring you hope, peace and love.  Amen.

Comments on: "Carrying other’s burdens." (1)

  1. That’s a beautiful prayer at the end of this post.

    Liked by 1 person

Your comment

